The Forbidden Dance

In love with two men – a man of god and the devil’s imposter – two faces of a coin – salvation pressed in eternal slumber beneath the grip of human-like-monsters –  accuse me not of cursing converts – I had listened well to their murmurs – all for god or so they pretended – forbidden fruit is what they made of me – chasing my scent in every alley – strayed by desire from piety – murdered innocence by their dysfunctional self-righteousness – I am taking the blame for my choking affection – they suffocate under my velvet grip – they confuse me with redemption – criticize my imperfections – omitting the holes of filth in their humanly characters – perhaps I am drowning in the realm of my imperfections – what does it make them – holy ghosts floating in translucent justice? – I’m a forbidden mercy on the land of curses – the vapor condensed in their merciless weathers – I cry them silence in north facing rivers– end up crucified on ice bergs and mountains of their unforgiving creed / unjustified vengeance – they hate me so much when I’m only a dancer – forbade my swaying in spaces of a risk diver – took my hands like a lady in a ball room – suddenly dressed like fighters – whirling in circles of my self-loathing frailty – in a total collapse of honor left a heart so mournful – the wait is so bitter – aging patience beneath my organs – turning ancient like the biggest of the pyramids – it is not the wait rather my honor – my pride – my heart – my youth – my GOD I am only human – I am a soul forbidden to love by their command – who has the final word on this land – I know I am tested – those prayers were never answered – thankful as I can only be – a solitary dancer in an audienceless theatre – the happiest of endings it must be – than hovering around happiness with love gangsters and Hollywood hero-wanna-be’s.

 

Inspired by the soundtrack of the turkish tv series “Forbidden Love”

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Forbidden Dance

  1. “I am drowning in the realm of my imperfections.” I would ask of you who does not? Such power, emotions, love, & hate found in these words should be criminal or immortalized. I was struck by the juxtaposition of the men, heroes or “gangster wannabes.” I felt sorrow for the heroine & all her splendid frailties; her imperfections moved me to great love. How can one be so misused? I’d like to encourage you to submit this one & share with readers across the globe your imperfect, perfect beauty.

  2. WOW May..it is so powerful, strong lines..covered with layers of beauty,i am really speechless..reading your soul pouring in here is a constant delight my fellow Cancerian..you ROCK..:)
    thank you so much for sharing it with me amazing poet!

    i am deeply moved with this one.

  3. Very moving, gripping, powerful. When I read it I felt like I was on a high speed car chase. This is my favorite poem that you’ve written so far.

Leave a Reply

